Special Offer
$15.95/month for 12 months

Use promo code

NEARME

*automatically renews until cancelled

Meet eHarmony member #5692758611 A Single Woman in Durham, NC 33 / I am a graduate student studying to be an Episcopal priest

Never On special occasion I don't have kids

White

  • Gender: Female
  • Height: 4'9"
  • State: North Carolina
  • City: Durham
  • Marital Status: Never Married
  • Has Kids: I don't have kids
  • Education: Masters
  • Religion: Christian

Durham, NC Singles

Hi, I'm a White woman, living in Durham, looking for a great guy. I have a Masters Degree. I'm 4'9". I don't have any kids, and when it comes to religion, I'm Christian.

Sign up to eHarmony and let's see if we're a match.

Meet Singles Like Me

More about me

The one thing I am passionate about...

I'm in seminary, so I think a lot about liturgy and theology. I am passionate about taking care of other people, books, good writing, poetry, travel, children, and dogs. I am always reading at least one book (and usually more than one--theology, poetry, mystery novels--anything that's well-crafted.) I tend to do things with my whole self or not at all, and I love language with a helpless passion.

I typically spend my leisure time

I usually read or talk to people, or watch movies. Words and ideas fascinate me; I love beautiful things. I enjoy having coffee with people for the sheer pleasure of hearing their stories. I give dinner parties. I go to every play and concert I can. Also, I'm gleefully teaching myself to cook--in a toaster oven. This is an exercise in persistence (or, as my grandfather used to say...sheer cussedness). I also like to hang out with my various aunts, uncles, and cousins (I have a gaggle of them, spread up and down the East Coast.)

The most influential person in my life has been

I am looking for somebody who loves God and loves being alive...everything else follows from that.

The first thing people notice about me

I use a wheelchair, every day, all day. The chair is my way of walking. Most people see that right away--and then forget about it. I actually love to hike, swim, and horseback ride, though outdoor activities require a little ingenuity. Someday, I'm going to find a way to go hang-gliding. Or maybe hike part of the Appalachian trail.

The last book I read and enjoyed

"The Man Born to Be King," by Dorothy Sayers. It's a cycle of twelve plays based on the Gospels. The writing was superb. It made me think, and it gave me new ideas and images to play with. I have also just finished re-reading the Lord of the Rings, Marilynn Robinson's "Housekeeping," and "Middlemarch" (which was enthralling..)

The three things which I am most thankful for

  1. I am doing work that I love--studying for a life of ministry
  2. I have very close friends, and I love my family
  3. I live a life bursting with possibilities

The one thing I wish MORE people would notice about me

I am much less serious than many people see right away. I love to laugh--and love people who can make me laugh. I like playing with dogs and children...and I like doing silly, spontaneous things.

Friends Describe me as

Caring, Intelligent, Perceptive, Spiritual

A little more about me

I'm an Episcopalian, but I'm studying for ordination at a Methodist Divinity School. (Figure that one out...) My family are mostly Methodists and Lutherans, so I'm quite comfortable with those traditions. At some point, I hope to do doctoral work in theology and ethics. After ordination, I'll probably divide my time between parish/hospital ministry and teaching. Oh, and I grew up in Germany and France. I speak French fairly fluently and German only when I'm half-asleep...or when I'm teasing my older brother.