Special Offer
$15.95/month for 12 months

Use promo code

NEARME

*automatically renews until cancelled

Meet eHarmony member #5526404836 A Single Woman in Oakland, CA 50 / writer and editor

Never Once a week I have kids

White

  • Gender: Female
  • Height: 5'6"
  • State: California
  • City: Oakland
  • Marital Status: Divorced
  • Has Kids: I have kids
  • Education: Masters
  • University: macalester college, lse, columbia university

Oakland, CA Singles

Hi, I'm a White woman, living in Oakland, looking for a great guy. I have a Masters Degree from macalester college, lse, columbia university. I'm 5'6". I have kids.

Sign up to eHarmony and let's see if we're a match.

Meet Singles Like Me

More about me

The one thing I am passionate about...

I love color; listening to Mozart, DMB and Mercedes Sosa; going to live theater; eating sushi, Indian curries and popcorn with real butter; supporting my smart and athletic children; making my mom's last years comfortable and happy; traveling to places where I can swim with manta rays and parrot fish; reading a good book; writing well; and bringing important news to the public's attention to make this a better world.

I typically spend my leisure time

I recently bought a bike, which I would live to ride with a new partner around the Bay Area. I try to get to a concert at least once a week to hear live jazz or classical music. Cooking Thai food with spices brought back from Bangkok is fun. I frequently attend Berkeley Rep, ACT and Aurora productions. A monthly trip to favorite haunts like San Luis Obispo, Yosemite and the North Coast makes me happy. When stressed, I play the piano to keep my brain and fingers nimble, and catch up on reading some of the hundreds of books I recently inherited from my Dad. If I had more wall space, I'd be out looking at art galleries more.

The most influential person in my life has been

A desire to live well is pretty high on my list. I figure that life is short so I want to share mine with a partner who is optimistic and wants to get the most out of every day with good food and wine, an interest in the world and culture, a desire to explore and learn.

The first thing people notice about me

I smile and laugh a lot and conversation comes easily. My parents taught me the importance of being nice and gracious to everyone, whether that be the owner or the waiter, the big wig or the assistant, the famous guy or the apprentice.

The last book I read and enjoyed

"The World Is Flat," by Thomas Friedman, was an insightful take on how geographic barriers are disappearing. I recently reread Betty Friedan's "The Feminine Mystique," which I thought was dated but still had some gems, and Katharine Graham's autobiography, which was inspiring. "He Usually Lived with a Female," was a terrific biography of California newspaperman Brick Garrigues, written by his son. "Wizard of Lies," Diana Henriques' book about Bernie Madoff is now on my bedside table. I like fiction, too: "Hunger Games," "Bangkok 8" and "Girl with a Dragon Tattoo" were quick reads. Some day I'll finish "Infinite Jest," by David Foster Wallace.

The three things which I am most thankful for

  1. my rich education and background, including foreign travel
  2. my friends and family, including my two children
  3. my career, which has brought me great satisfaction and adventure

The one thing I wish MORE people would notice about me

Just because I don't use exclamation points doesn't mean I'm not having fun (!) ... I get great pleasure out of watching someone else pursue their passion, even if it's not mine.

Friends Describe me as

Articulate, Intelligent, Outgoing, Warm

A little more about me

My ideal day would include drinking Peet's coffee over the morning news, scheming about my next trip, taking a walk to enjoy a pretty sunset, enjoying a good play, movie, concert or conversation, and being with friends or family. What's missing is a companion to make all that even better.