Special Offer
$15.95/month for 12 months

Use promo code

NEARME

*automatically renews until cancelled

Meet eHarmony member #470620024 A Single Man in South Bend, IN 32 / Graduate Student

Never On special occasion I don't have kids

White

  • Gender: Male
  • Height: 5'10"
  • State: Indiana
  • City: South Bend
  • Marital Status: Never Married
  • Has Kids: I don't have kids
  • Education: Masters
  • Religion: Christian

South Bend, IN Singles

Hi, I'm a White man, living in South Bend, looking for a great girl. I have a Masters Degree. I'm 5'10". I don't have any kids, and when it comes to religion, I'm Christian.

Sign up to eHarmony and let's see if we're a match.

Meet Singles Like Me

More about me

The one thing I am passionate about...

I love spending time with the people closest to me -- family, including extended, and my close friends. I love learning and am passionate about it, whether that means something for my vocation -- American religious history -- or aspects of daily life, from personal details about the people I meet to news, politics, and foreign cultures.

I typically spend my leisure time

I enjoy reading, especially when it's at a fun venue like a coffee shop or by a fire - in a perfect future, I'll live in a home equipped with a wood-burning fireplace and a couple distinguished-looking wingback chairs. I'm not anyone's idea of a "rugged outdoorsman" but I enjoy spending time outside, especially in less-trafficked or -populated areas. I love music, and my tastes are multiple: classical and choral, folk and bluegrass, acoustic / singer-songwriters, etc. I enjoy a good show on TV (often British in origin!) and am definitely glad to watch sports. I dream about traveling more once grad school no longer limits my budgetary options!

The most influential person in my life has been

Shared faith is a non-negotiable for me. Nearly as important is how that faith is embodied. If someone were looking at my faith in Jesus from the outside-in, they'd be more likely to label it as steady than dynamic; intentional more often than instinctual. While I'm not looking for a carbon-copy of myself (a frightening thought!), I also recognize that a good match for me would at least respect that form of faithfulness. The Kingdom of God surely needs diverse forms of faith, but I think in a long-term relationship I would disappoint someone who prized spontaneity, and I'd probably likewise be frustrated by her.

The first thing people notice about me

I'm pretty respectful / mannered - I've frequently been called an "old soul." One way this plays out is that I'm often the young person in a room who connects well with elderly folks; they like how I talk to them and carry myself. My friends mock me pretty constantly about my interactions with elderly women!

The last book I read and enjoyed

Books I read for school aren't the best indication, so two that I recently enjoyed for pleasure were C.S. Lewis's "Till We Have Faces" (I never finish Lewis disappointed) and Jeanne Birdsall's "The Penderwicks" (I read it to discuss with my nieces, and it reminded me of books I loved growing up).

The three things which I am most thankful for

  1. My family; in terms of things on earth, they are the biggest blessing I could ever desire.
  2. My health; I do not take it for granted.
  3. The chance to study for a graduate degree; it is a privilege that very few get to access.

The one thing I wish MORE people would notice about me

This is probably not very helpful or revealing, but in all honesty I rarely feel misunderstood or misperceived by those around me. I guess I would aspire for other people to realize that my planning isn't inconsistent with a whimsical side; I'm a sentimentalist at heart who just expresses it by thinking ahead of time.

Friends Describe me as

Easy-Going, Intelligent, Loyal, Respectful

A little more about me

I actually filled out the initial portions of this profile with my older sister -- you can determine whether that seems like a charming sign of our close relationship or an alarming indication of dysfunction on my part! She is my closest friend and her family is dear to me; her willingness to help me start my profile is a great indication of the kind of support she has always offered me.

I am
Somewhat Conservative

What I like to read

History, Literature & Fiction, Religion and Spirituality

Books I've read

east of eden, watership down, my antonia, the hiding place, when helping hurts, the abolition of man, the irony of american history, whittaker chambers, what hath god wrought

Sports I enjoy playing

Basketball, Running

Sports I enjoy watching

Baseball, Basketball, Football, Soccer

Movies I like to Watch

Crime Drama, Political

Favorite Movies to Watch

witness, driving miss daisy, shawshank redemption, the sound of music, star wars (originals), indiana jones,, the last of the mohicans, the mission, the king's speech

TV I like to Watch

Comedy, Crime Drama, Drama

My Favorite TV Shows

the andy griffith show, doc martin, frasier, foyle's war, endeavour, monk, downton abbey, call the midwife, home fires