Special Offer
$15.95/month for 12 months

Use promo code

NEARME

*automatically renews until cancelled

Meet eHarmony member #3291774317 A Single Woman in Portland, OR 37 / mental health social worker

Never Once a week I don't have kids

White

  • Gender: Female
  • Height: 5'4"
  • State: Oregon
  • City: Portland
  • Marital Status: Never Married
  • Has Kids: I don't have kids
  • Pets: Dogs, Other
  • Education: Masters
  • University: undergrad: university of notre dame masters: boston college msw/ma (pastoral ministry)
  • Religion: Christian

Portland, OR Singles

Hi, I'm a White woman, living in Portland, looking for a great guy. I have a Masters Degree from undergrad: university of notre dame masters: boston college msw/ma (pastoral ministry). I'm 5'4". I don't have any kids, and when it comes to religion, I'm Christian.

Sign up to eHarmony and let's see if we're a match.

Meet Singles Like Me

More about me

The one thing I am passionate about...

I'm passionate about standing on the margins, especially among people with severe mental illness and homelessness. I am also in love with "the simple" --- baking my own bread, eating out of the backyard garden, biking to and from work, and gathering friends together for laughter and a meal.

I typically spend my leisure time

I enjoy laughing at my chickens scratching for worms in the backyard, meandering along a hiking trail, sharing friendship over a cup of tea, morning runs in the rain, and never tire of curling up with a good book in front of the pellet stove.

The most influential person in my life has been

the capacity to forgive and to be forgiven

The first thing people notice about me

People note I hold a calm and compassionate space for others to dwell. This way of being was likely learned from being the oldest in a loud family of 7 kids. This grounded peace is also what I offer the holy chaos of community mental health--- where I walk/advocate/care about people with severe mental illness (schizophrenia & other psychotic disorders) and their homelessness, incarceration, and isolation. It is their great suffering, but even more their beauty, grace, and resiliency that animates my spirit.

The last book I read and enjoyed

I don't have a tv at home. Instead, there's always a growing and diminishing pile of books.The last book I happily completed was called Let the Great World Spin. Currently, Teresa of Avila (Interior Castle) sits beside Nicholas Kristof's Half the Sky, Tinkers, the Book of Flying and alas my LCSW exam prep material. To keep up with the events of our days, I mostly turn to the New York Times.

The three things which I am most thankful for

  1. family: 3 sisters, 3 brothers, 2 parents, granny boots, grandpa, 17 aunts and uncles, and too many cousins to count (at least 35) that all live in Portland... I love my family.
  2. I'm never happier or more grateful than when I dwell with just a backpack, my boots, and with a good friend on a mountain trail
  3. hope that rises from suffering

The one thing I wish MORE people would notice about me

Folks find me to be transparent and authentic. Anyone who persists in friendship will soon discover my delights (family, friends, Oregon strawberries), my passions (faith, theology, justice) and my struggles (holding Hope and sitting in stillness).

Friends Describe me as

Caring, Good listener, Intelligent, Spiritual

A little more about me

what else? I love rain, the ocean, backpacking, and sunflowers. I also confess willingly to my Catholicity and my sacramental vision of the world. I love being Catholic and the Church. But I love it enough to hope and wrestle against the patriarchy, sexism, and homophobia of the institution.

I am
Somewhat Liberal

What I like to read

Literature & Fiction, Religion and Spirituality

Sports I enjoy playing

Running

Sports I enjoy watching

Basketball, Football, Soccer

TV I like to Watch

I don't like to watch TV