Special Offer
$15.95/month for 12 months

Use promo code

NEARME

*automatically renews until cancelled

Meet eHarmony member #3287491027 A Single Man in Athens, GA 30 / PhD student--microbiology

Never Once a week I don't have kids

White

  • Gender: Male
  • Height: 5'10"
  • State: Georgia
  • City: Athens
  • Marital Status: Never Married
  • Has Kids: I don't have kids
  • Pets: Dogs, Rodents (Gerbils, Guinea, Etc.)
  • Education: Bachelors
  • University: cornell university
  • Religion: Jewish

Athens, GA Singles

Hi, I'm a White man, living in Athens, looking for a great girl. I have a Bachelors Degree from cornell university. I'm 5'10". I don't have any kids, and when it comes to religion, I'm Jewish.

Sign up to eHarmony and let's see if we're a match.

Meet Singles Like Me

More about me

The one thing I am passionate about...

SCIENCE!!! (have I mentioned that I'm a bit of a nerd? It kind of comes with the 'grad student' territory...) I spend most of my time teaching/learning science and I really enjoy what I do. I'd love to become a professor and have the opportunity to run a lab and teach/mentor students.I'm actually pretty passionate about learning in general. When something strikes my fancy, I try to find out more about it. I don't know what I'd do without Wikipedia...

I typically spend my leisure time

Being physically active: working out gives me an opportunity to blow off some steam, see new places, and interact with people. I lift weights regularly, I'm currently training for a half-marathon and Olympic-distance triathlon, and I love playing team sports, especially street hockey and softball.Sports: I like watching them too. TV is nice, but I'd rather be there. I enjoy college much more than the pros.Puzzles: Crosswords, especially (I love the feeling of finishing a New York Times Sunday)Music: don't play trumpet much anymore, but I sing with an a cappella group on campus.

The most influential person in my life has been

She is?**someone who loves to laugh. Bonus points if she loves to laugh at me/my jokes.**willing to fight like hell for the things that are important to her, but able to realize what's not so important and can laugh about it over a beer. **passionate about learning and trying new things.**not too high-maintenance. I love getting dressed up and going out, but some Friday nights were simply made for bad Chinese food, good wine, and Law and Order marathons.**not one for games. Ok, Parcheesi is fine, but emotional games aren't her thing. **Sound like you? If so, I think we?d get along well together...

The first thing people notice about me

I don't half-ass things. If I'm going to do something, I give a full effort. Whether I'm working in lab or playing hockey, planning an event or pulling a prank, I'm not satisfied unless I've done the best I possibly can.

The last book I read and enjoyed

Just finished "Black Monday." The villain in this book engineers a strain of bacteria to digest the world's crude oil supplies and the struggles of a CDC doctor to solve the mystery, foil the plot, and return society to normalcy. Though it was fiction, this work provided some eerie insight into our society's dependence on oil and how bad things could get if it were to suddenly not be available. I also loved that the science discussed was pretty sound--I plan on using this book in one of my classes to get my students thinking about microbes in new ways :)

The three things which I am most thankful for

  1. I have a great family and friends who have helped me get to where I am in life.
  2. I have a stable income that puts a roof over my head and food/beer in the fridge.
  3. I am physically and mentally healthy.

The one thing I wish MORE people would notice about me

When I'm around people that I like, I love being sarcastic and giving them a hard time. What I don't think the outside observer realizes is that, despite what I make it sound like, none of this is actually serious. If any of my friends ever needed help--moving, venting about co-workers, troubleshooting experiments, a ride home from downtown--I'd be one of the first people in line to give them a hand.

Friends Describe me as

Dependable, Hard Working, Intelligent, Rational

I am
Centrist/Middle of the Road

What I like to read

Literature & Fiction, Nonfiction

Sports I enjoy playing

Baseball, Cycling, Hockey, Running, Swimming

Sports I enjoy watching

Baseball, Football, Gymnastics, Hockey, Other

Music I like to listen to

guster, zac brown band, zac brown band, reel big fish, maynard ferguson

Music I like to perform

Country, Rock and Pop

Movies I like to Watch

Educational, Soap Opera

Favorite Movies to Watch

blues brothers, a beautiful mind, the sandlot

TV I like to Watch

Animation, Comedy, Crime Drama, Educational

My Favorite TV Shows

simpsons, good eats, the simpsons