Special Offer
$15.95/month for 12 months

Use promo code

NEARME

*automatically renews until cancelled

Meet eHarmony member #2085313625 A Single Woman in Chicago, IL 73 / retired educator

Never On special occasion I don't have kids

White

  • Gender: Female
  • Height: 5'5"
  • State: Illinois
  • City: Chicago
  • Marital Status: Widowed
  • Has Kids: I don't have kids
  • Pets: Cats, Dogs, Horses
  • Education: Bachelors

Chicago, IL Singles

Hi, I'm a White woman, living in Chicago, looking for a great guy. I have a Bachelors Degree. I'm 5'5". I don't have any kids.

Sign up to eHarmony and let's see if we're a match.

Meet Singles Like Me

More about me

The one thing I am passionate about...

In my travels I have learned that we are all alike: we care about our families, we love to eat dinner with good friends, we care about this tired old world and try to make it better. I love the anticipation and adventure of going to a new place, especially with someone to share that with.

I typically spend my leisure time

For several years I was part of an 8 team of open ocean rowers. I love to go on hikes, and hope to add camping to the list. I am great at doing nothing, a skill I am still perfecting. Creative expression, whether it's a new recipe, a writing class, a Zumba dance class, a new travel spot, can fulfill that sense of wonder for me. I want to create a rich life for myself and a partner, and see what his leisure time might be made of.

The most influential person in my life has been

At this point in my life, I appreciate a man's serenity; he's sure of him self now, not out to prove, satisfied with who he is, content with how the day might go. He knows how to sit still. He appreciates family ties and makes time for friends. There's a strength that comes with this serenity. I like alpha males.

The first thing people notice about me

My smile. It is quick, genuine, and reflects how I feel about life. I have always been a glass half full person. Pollyanna I am not.

The last book I read and enjoyed

Guns, Germs, and Steel, the fate of human societies, an amazing history of just about everything in the past thirteen thousand years. I appreciated that it was so readable, and kept my interest as I normally go for mysteries and such ilk. Another book that has stayed with me is The English Patient, and how the author describes something like 15 different kinds of winds and how they affect the world. Not to mention being set in Italy, my all time favorite place to visit.

The three things which I am most thankful for

  1. That I had a healthy, normal childhood with loving parents, and healthy normal daughters now grown and thriving
  2. Friends who I have known for years who make up my "family of choice"
  3. to have the ability and finances to live as I want, go where I want, and enjoy my one wild and precious life.

The one thing I wish MORE people would notice about me

I don't really expect people to have an interest in all things me; that comes with time. People don't know that I cry at weddings, at new babies, at the Kentucky Derby playing of My Old Ky Home, when the USA Olympians stand on the podium. I am a sentimentalist who hides it more often than not with a witticism. But my inner crybaby sometimes skips past that.

Friends Describe me as

Caring, Funny, Genuine, Outgoing

A little more about me

That this is such a departure for me, one that I am looking forward to and have a sense of adventure about. I have been a widow long enough and want to carry the love I had for my Joe forward to another grand love affair. Or just lunch. It will be fun no matter what! In overcoming my reluctance to "sign up" I surmised that if I wanted to find someone compatible now, there must be people just like me who do also; good people, with a sense of adventure for this process.

I am
Somewhat Liberal

What I like to read

Contemporary Literature & Fiction, Mystery & Thrillers

Sports I enjoy playing

Hiking, Horseback Riding

Sports I enjoy watching

Basketball, Football, Tennis

TV I like to Watch

Drama