Special Offer
$15.95/month for 12 months

Use promo code

NEARME

*automatically renews until cancelled

Meet eHarmony member #1658725925 A Single Woman in La Plata, MD 49 / College Professor

Few times a week Daily I don't have kids

White

  • Gender: Female
  • Height: 5'8"
  • State: Maryland
  • City: La Plata
  • Marital Status: Never Married
  • Has Kids: I don't have kids
  • Pets: Dogs
  • Education: Doctorate

La Plata, MD Singles

Hi, I'm a White woman, living in La Plata, looking for a great guy. I have a Doctorate Degree. I'm 5'8". I don't have any kids.

Sign up to eHarmony and let's see if we're a match.

Meet Singles Like Me

More about me

The one thing I am passionate about...

NOTE - I just got back from Thanksgiving Break (I live a college schedule)! I will do do my best to respond to all matches, nudges, etc., over the next few days. Thanks for your patience ---I enjoy - a good book; learning something new; time with my parents, siblings, and nieces; helping my students learn; small gatherings with close friends; walks with my dog; finishing a hard puzzle; a good movie/TV show; being innovative at work; and, just enjoying a quiet moment.

I typically spend my leisure time

It depends on my mood and energy level! I might want to curl up on the sofa with my dog and a good book. I might want to sit outside and enjoy the weather. I might want to visit my parents, siblings, or friends. I might want to go to a museum. When I am with my family, we do lots of target practice and skeet shooting.

The most influential person in my life has been

A connection - je ne sais quoi; A best friend first; A 50/50 partnership. . .NOTE - I use electronic vapors everyday rather than cigarettes; they emit a water vapor -- in addition to the "real" ones -- just wanted to be completely honest regarding the "smoking" item above because the choices do not really fit. And, I am still trying to find more recent photos with just me (which is hard)! I hope to get my siblings to take some over Thanksgiving!

The first thing people notice about me

I have no idea! I will have to ask someone.

The last book I read and enjoyed

I always have 3 or 4 going - The latest include Nexus by Ramez Naam (science fiction), One Second After by William Forstchen, Hadrian's Wall by William Dietrick (historical fiction) still working through Stephen Hawking's A Brief History of Time and The Universe in a Nutshell, Charles Krauthammer's Things that Matter, Norse Mythology, and the Art of Zen

The three things which I am most thankful for

  1. My family (plus my dog) - they are the best!
  2. My "job" - I am so lucky that I get paid for what I love to do!
  3. My financial security/independence - I worked hard to get where I am!

The one thing I wish MORE people would notice about me

Hmmm, have to ponder this one . . .

Friends Describe me as

Caring, Genuine, Intelligent, Rational

A little more about me

Favorite fiction - Ayn Rand, Atlas Shrugged; anything by Issac Asimov and Arthur Clarke; the Darkover series by Marion Zimmer Bradley; the Black Jewels series by Anne Bishop; Lucifer's Hammer by Niven and Pournelle; and, the Dune series by Frank HerbertFavorite Non-Fiction - Anything ancient historical; Most anything science; "off-beat" reading (try "Jung and Tarot, An Archetypal Journal" from Sallie Nichols' PhD Dissertation - very interesting take). . .

I am
Libertarian

What I like to read

Fantasy & Science Fiction, Historical Fiction, Nonfiction

Sports I enjoy playing

Hiking, Shooting

Sports I enjoy watching

Football

Movies I like to Watch

Action, Political, Science

Favorite Movies to Watch

not sure, star wars, hands down!, braveheart (i still cry)

TV I like to Watch

Crime Drama, News/Journalism, Science Fiction

My Favorite TV Shows

criminal minds, ncis (both of them), walking dead (any many others), special report and cavuto