Special Offer
$15.95/month for 12 months

Use promo code

NEARME

*automatically renews until cancelled

Meet eHarmony member #12719390619 A Single Woman in Durham, NC 24 / Graduate Student

Never Once a week I don't have kids

White

  • Gender: Female
  • Height: 5'6"
  • State: North Carolina
  • City: Durham
  • Marital Status: Never Married
  • Has Kids: I don't have kids
  • Pets: Birds, Cats, Dogs, Reptiles, Rodents (Gerbils, Guinea, Etc.)
  • Education: Masters
  • University: duke divinity school
  • Religion: Christian

Durham, NC Singles

Hi, I'm a White woman, living in Durham, looking for a great guy. I have a Masters Degree from duke divinity school. I'm 5'6". I don't have any kids, and when it comes to religion, I'm Christian.

Sign up to eHarmony and let's see if we're a match.

Meet Singles Like Me

More about me

The one thing I am passionate about...

Jesus has transformed me. I love scripture (grad student in Old Testament). I'm striving to grow closer to Christ and to love God and my neighbor better. I love hiking, backpacking, being outside, and eating with people! I think its the best thing ever that Jesus left us with his Spirit and a shared meal. I want to be committed to a simpler lifestyle, to radical hospitality, and the ways of Jesus. While I've been through a lot of struggles with God, I haven't found anything better than seeking Him. I'm happiest when I'm closest to God, people, and his earth, and I'm trying to say no to stuff that gets in the way of tha

I typically spend my leisure time

Hiking, being with friends, reading, and eating with people. I think one of the most radical, political, and Jesus-like acts we can perform is to eat with people we're not "supposed" to eat with, to have a diverse dinner table. Realizing this, and seeking to be with people society doesn't care about, and fellowship around a table with them has wrecked and rebuilt my life. It means I spend a lot of the week outside of school and work cooking for folks, and eating with people in half a dozen different contexts. Being outdoors is also a huge passion when I have the ability to get out. The mountains seem to always be calling!

The most influential person in my life has been

Someone who loves the Lord and loves this world He made. I want someone who is striving to live a simple life to make room for God and others, who loves the outdoors, who can work hard, and who is okay with roughing it. I want to live a life that is close to nature, close to family, close to the poor of the earth, and close to God. I want someone who is committed to hospitality and to finding more and more creative ways to love and serve the community with me. I also want someone who loves the Word of God, and who can understand some of the more intellectual interests I have. And above all, someone who understands my heart.

The first thing people notice about me

Honestly, it's often the fact that I'm barefoot. I don't like to wear shoes when the weather allows for it, so I usually leave them in my car or with my bike. Most folks back east will then ask me if I'm from the west coast...which I guess is a fair assumption, haha! If I am wearing shoes, it's probably my hair and my earrings.

The last book I read and enjoyed

I recently read "Jayber Crow" by Wendell Berry. I had never read Berry before, and this was one of those wonderful, truly American novels that spoke to the cries of my heart. He pulls readers in to the life of a small town in Kentucky, from the days of prohibition up until the 1960s. The book raises questions about globalization and the loss of traditional agricultural practices and lifestyles, not to mention questions about religion and what it means to be human and to discern God's activity in the world.

The three things which I am most thankful for

  1. The immense love of God and his constant provision for me.
  2. My family and my life's experiences
  3. Living in a world that in spite of human evil, is still full of beauty and life from God!

The one thing I wish MORE people would notice about me

This is a weird question for me, and I'm not really sure how to answer it!

Friends Describe me as

Dependable, Intelligent, Perceptive, Spiritual

A little more about me

I've lived all over the place, and in lots of different cultures, and that is a big part of who I am. While it can be tough not feeling rooted, it also enables me to relate with all kinds of people, which is awesome! Places I've lived include California, Washington state, Thailand, Indiana, Pennsylvania, Arizona, and North Carolina. But, to be honest, I feel most at home out west. I think about one day having a true home somewhere, where I can garden, be a mom, show hospitality, and teach part time, maybe in the church, maybe the academy. But then, I have learned that God probably knows better than I do what I truly want, and I'm

What I like to read

Literature & Fiction, Nonfiction, Other

Books I've read

the lord of the rings, gilead, the chronicles of narnia, the brothers karamazov, tom sawyer, theology, philosophy and biblical studies of all kinds, poetry, church fathers, spirituality, poetry, and artwork

Sports I enjoy playing

Hiking, Kayaking

Music I like to perform

Bluegrass, Blues, Folk and Traditional, Gospel, Jazz

Movies I like to Watch

Animation, Historical Drama

TV I like to Watch

I don't like to watch TV